Welcome to Nakuru County. Nakuru town is located 160 km North west of Nairobi and is the fourth largest urban centre in Kenya after Nairobi, Mombassa and Kisumu. It is situated at an altitude of 1859m above the sea level and it is within the region of the Great Rift Valley whose formation gave rise to a unique natural structure. Nakuru means 'City of the Waterbucks'.

Nakuru town was the former capital Rift Valley Province and was then known as Nakuru District. Nakuru County city is surrounded by numerous agricultural farms and businesses. The main agricultural products grown in the region includes; maize, beans, wheat, barley, potatoes, and coffee, The products are marketed within the city while others are distributed to other counties such as Nairobi, Mombasa and Kisumu.

The town is located in an environmentally sensitive area. It is sandwiched between Lake Nakuru National Park to the south and the Menengai crater and its associated volcanic landscapes. Known for its flamingos and once dubbed "the cleanest town in East-Africa" Nakuru is now considered one of the most productive and industrious towns in Africa.

Nakuru is Kenya's 4th largest city located in the North-western part of Nairobi. It is an important agricultural city, trade center, and transportation hub for the whole of Kenya. Nakuru isn't dominated by a single tribe but several tribes. You will definitely feel the diversity in the festivals, food, events and culture.

Nakuru boasts an excellent tourism infrastructure and has many interesting sights for viewing. The town continues to grow and has good hotel facilities, excellent transport system and friendly atmosphere.

Connect With Us

Quick Contact

  • info@nakuru.co.ke
  • +254 (0) 20 8052995